• 6 November 2019

    Public Program | Aspen Gala 2019
    On November 6, 2019, the Aspen Institute Germany will host its fourth Aspen Annual Gala to present the 2019 Shepard Stone Award to Former U.S. Secretary of State Madeleine Albright.The award recognizes outstanding transatlantic leadership and accomplishments in the realm of politics, culture, society, and science that reflect and promote the shared values of the United States and Germany. The tradition was initiated in 2014 on the occasion of Aspen Germany’s 40th anniversary and in memory of the extraordinary achievements of Shepard Stone, the founder and first Executive Director of the Aspen Institute Germany. Previous recipients of the Shepard Stone Award are Wolf Biermann, Dr. Guido Goldman, Leonard Lauder and Dr. Mathias Döpfner.