Event

  • 17 April 2015

    Public Program | Background Discussion: "After the Election: What's next for Israel and Palestine?" with Samer Maklouf, Executive Director of OneVoice Palestine and Tal Harris, former Executive Director of OneVoice Israel

    On April 17, 2015 Rüdiger Lentz welcomed Samer Maklouf, Executive Director of OneVoice Palestine, and Tal Harris, former Executive Director of OneVoice Israel, at the Aspen Institute Germany for a discussion on the effects of the recent elections in Israel.
    Harris called the election results disappointing, since the polls in advance had predicted significant change. Many thought Prime Minister Netanyahu’s time had reached its end, Harris said, but now he was forming a new coalition. His Likud party garnered almost one million votes, 100,000 more than in the 2013 elections. He criticized Netanyahu’s racist comments aimed at Arab voters on election day which helped mobilize Likud voters who had not yet cast their ballots. Still, Harris noted, one has to respect the results and OneVoice would now increasingly focus on targeting Likud voters, who had not yet been reached.
    Maklouf described the current times as being sensitive because the outcome of the election had been shocking. Maklouf claimed that the only alternative to the two-state solution would be an eternal war between Israel and its neighbors. He called for more activity from Europe, particularly Germany, to promote the two-state solution. Palestine itself does not have a strategy, he said, noting that they currently were just reacting. Maklouf noted its inhabitants were mostly in favor of the two-state solution, although he mentioned there is a big difference in how Israelis and Palestinians understand the term “two-state solution,“ particularly regarding the future role of Jerusalem. Whereas up to 74% of Palestinians preferred the two-state solution in past polls conducted by OneVoice, the number dropped below 50% in 2015 as people were increasingly hopeless, Maklouf said.
    In conclusion, Harris made mention of other bi-national states in the world and their tremendous problems, even in places like Belgium. That is why, he said, he did not consider a one-state solution to be a viable option.

Back

Event

  • 17. April 2015

    Public Program | Hintergrundgespräch: „Nach der Wahl: Was kommt als nächstes für Israel und Palästina?” mit Samer Maklouf, dem Direktor von OneVoice Palästina, und dem früheren Direktor von OneVoice Israel, Tal Harris

    Am 17. April 2015 hieß Rüdiger Lentz, Direktor des Aspen Institut Deutschland, den Direktor von OneVoice Palästina, Samer Maklouf, und den früheren Direktor von OneVoice Israel, Tal Harris, im Aspen Institute zu einer Diskussion über die Auswirkungen der letzten Wahlen in Israel willkommen.
    Harris nannte die Resultate enttäuschend, da Vorabumfragen einen Regierungswechsel vorausgesagt hatten – obwohl Premier Netanjahus Ende besiegelt zu sein schien, schmiede er nun wieder eine neue Koalition mit seiner Likud-Partei an der Spitze. Diese konnte fast eine Million Stimmen gewinnen, 100.000 mehr als bei den letzten Wahlen 2013. Er kritisierte Netanjahus rassistische Bemerkungen gegen arabische Wähler am Wahltag, welche bisher inaktive Likud-Wähler mobilisiert hätten. Nichtsdestotrotz müsse man diese Wahl respektieren und OneVoice werde sich nun auch vermehrt an Likud-Wähler richten, die man bisher nicht erreicht habe.
    Maklouf bezeichnete die aktuellen Zeiten als sensibel, weil die Wahlergebnisse schockierend gewesen seien. Maklouf zufolge sei die einzige Alternative zur Zwei-Staaten-Lösung ein ewiger Krieg zwischen Israel und seinen Nachbarn. Er rief des Weiteren zu mehr Aktivität von europäischer, im Speziellen von deutscher Seite, auf, die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung voranzutreiben. Palästina selbst habe keine Strategie, sondern würde momentan nur reagieren. Seine Einwohner würden die Zwei-Staaten-Lösung mehrheitlich befürworten – auch wenn dieser Begriff auf beiden Seiten verschieden aufgefasst werde, insbesondere wegen der Rolle Jerusalems. Während 74% der Palästinenser in OneVoice-Umfragen 2009 diese Lösung noch bevorzugten, sei die Zahl der Befürworter unter 50 % im Jahr 2015 gesunken, da sich Hoffnungslosigkeit verbreite.
    Harris verwies abschließend auf andere binationale Staaten in der Welt und deren enorme Probleme, sogar in Ländern wie Belgien. Daher sehe er die Ein-Staaten-Lösung als keine langlebige Alternative.

Zurück