Event

  • 2 March 2015

    Public Program | "Strong Europe: America's Contribution in Times of Russia's New Geopolitics"

    Lt. General Ben Hodges, the Commanding General of the U.S. Army Europe, was our guest at a discussion with our cooperation partner Deutschlandradio Kultur. Together with the moderator Burkhard Birke, he debated on the topic of: “Strong Europe: America’s Contribution in Times of Russia’s New Geopolitics.”
    Hodges said Putin has two objectives regarding the Ukraine crisis: to prevent the integration of Eastern European countries into the EU and NATO, and to divide NATO. To stop Russia’s unlawful geo-political maneuverings, Hodges stressed the importance of cooperation among Western countries to isolate Russia from the international community. He emphasized the importance of NATO cooperation in accordance with the Wales Summit, said that the EU should keep up its economic sanctions, and urged that the West support Ukraine financially. He strongly criticized the Russian move to change the border of a European country by force as a violation of previously shared values.
    While the Crimea Crisis and the following war in eastern Ukraine are often referred to as a “war of propaganda”, information is only one of the four elements of power, together with diplomacy, military, and economic measures. Putin is challenging the West with the power of information, but according to Hodges, the West should not go down that road to stay true to its values. Furthermore, he explained that the sophisticated equipment and strategy used by the rebels in eastern Ukraine were an obvious proof of Russian support.
    Hodges remarked that fewer and fewer member states were showing a willingness to commit to the NATO alliance. Regarding the question whether the United States is ready to take the burden as a leader of NATO in Europe under these circumstances, he clarified that it is in the strategic interest of the United States to maintain a significant role on this continent. At the same time, he pointed towards the responsibility of Germany as a prominent leader in Europe to contribute its share militarily, and not just in the realms of economy and diplomacy– and to step forward from the historic mistake it made 70 years ago.

Back

Event

  • 2. März 2015

    Public Program | „Ein starkes Europa: Amerikas Beitrag in Zeiten einer neuen Geopolitik Russlands."

    Lt. Gen. Ben Hodges, Kommandeur der U.S. Army Europe, war unser Gast bei einer Diskussion in Kooperation mit Deutschlandradio Kultur. Gemeinsam mit dem Moderator Burkhard Birke sprach über das Thema „Ein starkes Europa: Amerikas Beitrag in Zeiten einer neuen Geopolitik Russland“.
    Laut Lt. Gen. Ben Hodges habe Putin zwei Ziele bezüglich der Ukraine-Krise: die EU- und NATO-Integration Osteuropas zu verhindern, sowie die Spaltung der NATO. Entsprechend sei eine Zusammenarbeit des Westens mit dem Ziel der Isolierung Russlands von der internationalen Gemeinschaft ein Muss, um Russlands unrechtmäßige Geopolitik zu verhindern. Hierzu betonte er die Notwendigkeit der Kooperation innerhalb der NATO entsprechend des Wales Summits, weiterhin die strikte Umsetzung der EU-Wirtschaftssanktionen und die finanzielle Unterstützung der Ukraine. Er sprach sich mit starken Worten und dem Verweis auf westliche Werte gegen Putins Politik aus, die Grenze eines europäischen Staats mit Waffengewalt zu ändern.
    Während die Krim-Krise und der folgende Krieg in der Ostukraine oft als Propagandakriege bezeichnet würden, seien Informationen nur eine von vier Arten der Macht neben Diplomatie, Militär und Wirtschaft. Putin fordere den Westen mit seiner Informationspolitik heraus, der Westen sollte sich aber – um seinen Werten treu zu bleiben – nicht auf diesen Weg begeben. Eindeutige Beweise für die russische Beteiligung an der Rebellion in der Ostukraine seien laut ihm die hochentwickelte Ausrüstung und Strategie der Rebellen.
    Die NATO befinde sich in einer Situation, in der immer weniger Mitgliedsstaaten wirklich bereit seien, zur Allianz beizutragen. Auf die Frage, ob die USA trotz dieser Situation eine führende Rolle spielen wolle, erläuterte er das strategische Interesse der USA in Europa. Gleichzeitig trage Deutschland als bedeutender Akteur neben der Wirtschaft und der Diplomatie auch militärisch eine Verantwortung – und solle 70 Jahren nach seinem historischen Verbrechen einen Schritt in die Zukunft machen.

Zurück