Event

  • 23 March 2015

    Public Program | Aspen Brown Bag Lunch: “Russia’s Foreign Policy and its View of the new European (Dis)order“


    On March 23, 2015, Fyodor Lukyanov, Editor-in-Chief of the magazine Russia in Global Affairs and Chairman of the Presidium of the Council on Foreign and Defense Policy was our guest during the Brown Bag Lunch on “Russia’s Foreign Policy and its view of the new European (Dis)order”. Three big issues were dealt with: Russia’s current military conflict with Ukraine and the resulting implications on Russia’s position in the world; Putin’s role; and Russia’s economy. Katrin Eigendorf, reporter for ZDF and former Moscow Correspondent of RTL, interviewed Lukyanov about the current conflict.
    Most questions centered around whether Russia is at war with Ukraine. That appears to be the case, Lukyanov said, but it is a war that has never been declared. Moreover, Ukraine never developed its own identity after gaining independence and Russia did not regard Ukraine as a separate country and Kiev is often seen as the cradle of Russia, Lukyanov said. Altogether, Putin’s role was highly emphasized during the discussion, with Putin being described as not having an overall strategy, rather a vision. The annexation of Crimea was an important step to challenge a world order which had been developed without Russia, Lukyanov said. On the other hand, the Baltic States were said to react hysterically with people from the Baltic States not trusting NATO to defend them in case of a military attack. According to Lukyanov, however, Russia would never risk a conflict with NATO. Neither was Georgia in Russia’s focus. But the militarization of Russia was important for Putin due to the fact that NATO was twice as big now as it was in 1999.
    Another important issue was Russia’s economy. According to Putin, Lukyanov said, it had been a mistake to demolish the Soviet Union without a transition of the economic structures within Russia. Putin is often described as trying to re-establish the former status quo, implement the transition and then open up Russia again. Lukyanov also said that Europe and the U.S. had tried to use sanctions to punish Russia’s military actions. But they hadn’t changed anything. Now it is important to once again find common ground, Lukyanov said.
    At the end of the discussion, Putin’s isolation was addressed. He may have a circle of people whom he trusts, but even they never know exactly how he will ultimately decide. Should Putin disappear one day, a great vacuum would open up, Lukyanov said. He may ultimately groom a successor, Lukyanov said, but that doesn't currently seem to be a priority.

Back

Event

  • 23. März 2015

    Public Program | Aspen Brown Bag Lunch: „Russlands Außenpolitik und sein Blick auf die neue europäische (Un)ordnung”


    Am 23. März 2015 war Fyodor Lukyanov, Chefredakteur der Zeitschrift Russia in Global Affairs und Vorsitzender des Präsidiums des Council on Foreign and Defense Policy, Gast des Brown Bag Luncheon zum Thema „Russlands Außenpolitik und sein Blick auf die neue politische (Un)Ordnung.“ Insgesamt wurden drei große Themenbereiche angesprochen: Der derzeitige militärische Konflikt Russlands mit der Ukraine und daraus resultierende Implikationen zu Russlands Stellung in der Welt, die Rolle Putins sowie Russlands Wirtschaft. Katrin Eigendorf, Reporterin des ZDF und ehemalige Moskau-Korrespondentin von RTL, interviewte Lukyanov zum derzeitigen Konflikt.
    Die meisten Fragen drehten sich um die Frage: Befindet sich Russland im Krieg mit der Ukraine? Das sei wohl so, jedoch sei der Krieg niemals erklärt worden. Darüber hinaus habe die Ukraine seit ihrer Unabhängigkeit keine eigene Identität entwickelt und auch Russland sehe die Ukraine nicht als ein fremdes Land an. Kiew werde gerne als die Wiege Russlands gesehen. Die Rolle Putins wurde im gesamten Gespräch stark hervorgehoben. So habe Putin keine umfassende Strategie in seinem Vorgehen, eher eine Vision. Die Einnahme der Krim sei ein bedeutender Schritt gewesen eine Weltordnung herauszufordern, die ohne Russland in dieser Form aufgebaut worden sei. Umgekehrt mache sich im Falle der baltischen Staaten eine gewisse Hysterie breit. Die Einwohner des Baltikums trauen der NATO nicht, dass diese im Falle eines Angriffes ihre Paktstaaten unterstützen würde. Laut Lukyanov würde Russland genau dieses – eine Auseinandersetzung mit der NATO – nie riskieren. Auch Georgien läge überhaupt nicht im Fokus Russlands. Jedoch sei Putin die Militarisierung Russlands auch deshalb so wichtig, weil die NATO sich von 1999 bis 2015 quasi verdoppelt habe.
    Ein weiterer wichtiger Punkt war die Wirtschaft Russlands: Putins Meinung nach sei es ein Fehler gewesen, die Sowjet Union zu öffnen, ohne dass ein Wandel innerhalb (auch) der wirtschaftlichen Strukturen stattgefunden hatte. Es werde Putin nachgesagt, dass er den alten Status Quo gerne wieder herstellen, den notwendigen Wandel vollziehen und danach eine Öffnung herbeiführen würde. Laut Lukyanov hätten Europa und die USA versucht, Russlands militärisches Vorgehen durch Sanktionen zu bestrafen. Bewirkt hätten diese nichts. Nun sei es notwendig, wieder einen Konsens zu finden.
    Abschließend wurde festgestellt, dass Putin bereits sehr isoliert sei. Er habe zwar Vertraute, doch auch sie wüssten nie im Vorfeld, wie Putin letztlich entscheide. Sollte Putin einmal nicht mehr sein, entstünde zunächst ein großes Vakuum. Vielleicht werde er für eine Nachfolge sorgen, jedoch scheine er heute noch nicht daran zu denken

Zurück