Event

  • 14 April 2015

    Public Program | Brown Bag Lunch: “Putin's leadership and its implications for the West”

    On April 14, 2015, the Aspen Institute Germany hosted a brown bag lunch with Dr. Fiona Hill, Director of the Center on the United States and Europe at Brookings Institution and co-author of “Mr. Putin: Operative in the Kremlin”. Together with moderator Rüdiger Lentz and 22 guests, Dr. Hill spoke about “Putin's leadership and its implications for the West.”
    According to her, one could have seen the annexation of Crimea coming, because of the region’s symbolism for Russians. She stated that Putin’s goal was a dominant Russia, both economically and politically. Hill described the dilemma of the West's reaction: While appearing too weak may include the risk of not being taken seriously enough, appearing too strong might eventually make Putin more prone to use his nuclear arsenal. According to Dr. Hill, Putin’s ultimate opponent was the United States, as he is striving for a similarly exceptional stance in international politics.
    She described Putin as a hardly predictable character with many faces, which is why he is in control of both the power to escalate and the power to deescalate. In negotiations, this would play out as a tactical advantage, but the West’s unity would ultimately be a strategic advantage. Accordingly, Dr. Hill explained that Putin was trying to sow discord among Western countries by wooing EU-critical countries like Greece and Turkey.
    She also provided insight on how the situation is perceived in the U.S.: Americans, she said, are afraid of being considered appeasers and any candidate for the presidency would be further on the right regarding America’s Russia policy than Obama.

Back

Event

  • 14. April 2015

    Public Program | Brown Bag Lunch: „Putin's leadership and its implications for the West”

    Am 14. April lud das Aspen Institut Deutschland zum Brown Bag Lunch mit Dr. Fiona Hill, der Direktorin des „Center on the United States and Europe“ bei der Brookings Institution und Co-Autorin des Buches „Mr. Putin: Operative in the Kremlin”. Zusammen mit Moderator Rüdiger Lentz und 22 Gästen sprach Dr. Hill über Putins Führungsstil und dessen Auswirkungen auf den Westen.
    Ihrer Meinung nach hätte man die Annexion der Krim vorhersehen können, da es sich um ein sehr symbolträchtiges Stück Land für die Russen handle. Sie meinte, Putin strebe nach einem dominanten Russland, sowohl wirtschaftlich als auch politisch. Der „Westen“ befinde sich im Dilemma, entweder zu schwach zu wirken oder zu stark – dann mit dem Risiko, dass Putin letztendlich sein Nukleararsenal in Betracht ziehen könne. Dr. Hill zufolge seien die USA Putins tatsächlicher Gegner, er strebe nach einer ähnlich herausgehobenen Stellung in der internationalen Politik für Russland.
    Sie beschrieb Putin als eine kaum vorhersehbare Persönlichkeit mit vielen Gesichtern. Daher verfüge er sowohl über die Kraft der Eskalation als auch die der Deeskalation. In Verhandlungen würde dies einen taktischen Vorteil bedeuten, aber die Einigkeit des Westens spiele dieser wiederum als strategischen Vorteil aus. Putin würde jetzt darum laut Dr. Hill versuchen, Zwietracht zwischen den westlichen Staaten zu säen, indem er EU-kritische Staaten wie Griechenland und die Türkei umwerbe.
    Sie gab außerdem Einblicke in die Wahrnehmung der Situation von Seiten der USA: Man wolle hier auf keinen Fall als „Appeaser“ wahrgenommen werden. Entsprechend werde jeder Kandidat für die US-Präsidentschaft sich mit seiner Russlandpolitik weiter rechts positionieren als Obama.

Zurück