Event

  • 21 May 2015

    Public Program | "Collapse Middle East – German Influence und German Responsibility in a Difficult Region."

    On 21 May 2015, the Aspen Institute Germany hosted a talk with Omid Nouripour, member of the German Bundestag and foreign affairs spokesperson of the party Alliance 90/The Greens. Under the headline “Collapse Middle East – German Influence and German Responsibility“ he first focused on Iran: Although the negotiations about nuclear non-proliferation with Iran were close to being finished, Nouripour advised against early relief. Until June 30, the details would still need to be finalized, and after that the agreement would either be ratified – or not.
    Iran had now been more willing to compromise as the regime was running out of money due to the economic sanctions imposed on it: Supporting the Syrian Assad regime and the Hezbollah in Lebanon cost lots of money, the alleged support of the Houthis in Yemen as well. The treaty meant to avoid the nuclear bomb could thus lead to an increase in conventional armament, as Saudi Arabia and others were worrying.
    Nouripour was furthermore worried about the further existence of Syria and Iraq as these two were being disintegrated by the “Islamic State“ (ISIS). He was very concerned about a potential disintegration of Lebanon and called for help from the West to stabilize it, especially with regards to the critical amount of refugees populating the country.
    Nouripour named the Eastern African country Somalia as a surprisingly positive example in recent years. Although referred to as a “failed state“ for years now, signs of rule of law had been developing again around Mogadishu and the separatist entity “Somaliland“ had even developed a kind of a democracy.
    Nouripour concluded that, since the 20+ states of the Middle East, from the Comoros to Pakistan, were very diverse, fragmented solutions for every country and every region individually would be needed while at the same time the sense for the consequences on the whole region should not be lost.
    The conversation revealed the depth and complexity of the subject and raised many new questions.

Back

Event

  • 21. Mai 2015

    Public Program | „Kollaps Nahost – Deutscher Einfluss und deutsche Verantwortung in einer schwierigen Region."

    Zu einem Gespräch mit Omid Nouripour, MdB, dem außenpolitischen Sprecher der Bundestagsfraktion von Bündnis90/Die Grünen, lud das Aspen Institute Deutschland am 21. Mai 2015 ein. Unter dem Titel „Kollaps Nahost – Deutscher Einfluss und deutsche Verantwortung in einer schwierigen Region” ging es unter anderem um die jüngsten Atomverhandlungen der Vetomächte des UNO-Sicherheitsrates und Deutschlands mit dem Iran. Nouripour warnte vor verfrühter Freude, denn noch bis Ende Juni werde an den Details gefeilscht, erst danach das Abkommen ratifiziert – oder eben nicht.
    Der Iran sei nun kompromissbereiter gewesen, da dem Regime aufgrund der verhängten Wirtschaftssanktionen das Geld ausgehe: Die Unterstützung des syrischen Assad-Regimes und der Hisbollah im Libanon verschlingen Geld, ebenso die mutmaßliche Unterstützung der Huthi-Rebellen im Jemen. Der Vertrag zur Vermeidung der Atombombe könnte so letztlich sogar zur konventionellen Aufrüstung führen, fürchteten Saudi-Arabien und andere Staaten.
    Nouripour sah auch die weitere Existenz von Syrien und dem Irak in ihrer bisherigen Form kritisch, da diese insbesondere vom „Islamischen Staat“ (IS) zersetzt würden. Er warnte hier eindrücklich vor einem Zerfall des Libanon, den der Westen nun angesichts der enormen Flüchtlingszahlen stabilisieren müsse.
    Als überraschend positives Beispiel in letzter Zeit nannte Nouripour die Entwicklung im ostafrikanischen Somalia. Bereits vor einigen Jahren als „failed state“ abgeschrieben, entwickle sich rund um Mogadischu wieder Staatlichkeit und mit dem abgespaltenen Somaliland sogar eine Art Demokratie.
    Da sich die über 20 Staaten des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens, von den Komoren bis nach Pakistan, aber alle sehr voneinander unterschieden, bräuchten wir auch fragmentierte Lösungen, die für jedes Land, jede Region, einzeln erstellt werden müssten – ohne die Auswirkungen auf die gesamte Region aus dem Blick zu verlieren, so Nouripours Fazit.
    Das Gespräch offenbarte dem Publikum die Tiefe und hohe Komplexität der Thematik und warf auch nach der Diskussion viele neue Fragen auf.

Zurück