Event

  • 27 May 2015

    Leadership Program | Book Presentation and Discussion: “Return on Character. The Real Reason Leaders and Their Companies Win”

    On 27 May 2015, Kelly Garramone, Managing Partner at KRW International, presented the book “Return on Character: The Real Reason Leaders and Their Companies Win” on behalf of author and colleague Fred Kiel at the Aspen Institute Germany. The book is the product of their joint research into the connections between the character of a CEO and his or her company’s bottom line.
    They identified integrity, responsibility, forgiveness, and compassion as the four main aspects of character. They make the argument that a company’s business results are the sum of macro-economic factors, their business model, and the leadership effect.
    From 2006 to 2013, they surveyed 84 Northern American CEOs and over 8,500 of their employees and identified two types of CEOs. Whereas the first group uses head and heart to orchestrate a high-performance team (so-called virtuosos), the second group is much more self-absorbed and out for their own gains. Interestingly, many of the second group over-estimated their reputation with their employees while many of the first group under-estimated theirs.
    The average self-absorbed leader’s return on assets (net operating income as a proportion of total assets) was 1.93%, whereas the average virtuoso’s was as much as 9.35%. - meaning that virtuosos’ financial performance was about five times higher than that of self-absorbed leaders. The employee engagement in their companies turned out to be 26% higher and their corporate risk lower.
    The study concluded that a company's success depends largely on its leader: Character exponentially magnifies skills

Back

Event

  • 27. Mai 2015

    Leadership Program | Buchpräsentation und Diskussion: „Return on Character. The Real Reason Leaders and Their Companies Win“

    Am 27. Mai 2015 stellte Kelly Garramone, Managing Partner bei KRW International, im Aspen Institut Deutschland in Vertretung ihres Kollegen und Autors Fred Kiel sein Buch „Return on Character – The Real Reason Leaders and Their Companies Win” vor. Dieses beschäftigt sich mit dem Zusammenhang zwischen dem Charakter des CEOs einer Firma und deren Rendite.
    Dabei haben sie zur Bestimmung des Begriffs „Charakter” vier Hauptaspekte ausgemacht: Integrität, Verantwortung, die Fähigkeit zur Vergebung und Mitgefühl. Sie argumentieren, dass die wirtschaftlichen Ergebnisse einer Firma die Summe aus makroökonomischen Faktoren, dem Geschäftsmodell des Unternehmens und dem Leadership-Effekt ist.
    Von 2006 bis 2013 hat das KRW International-Team nordamerikanische 84 Führungskräfte und über 8500 Mitarbeiter befragt. Letztendlich identifizierten die Forscher um Kiel zwei Typen von CEOs: Während die erste Gruppe leidenschaftlich ein leistungsstarkes Team dirigiert (die sogenannten Virtuosos), ist die zweite viel selbstzentrierter und auf eigene Gewinne aus. Viele aus der zweiten Gruppe schätzten sich und ihren Ruf interessanterweise selbst viel besser ein als ihre Mitarbeiter es taten, während viele der Virtuosos ihre Reputation unterschätzten.
    Die durchschnittliche selbstzentrierte Führungskraft erwirtschafte laut der Studie Renditen in Höhe von 1,93%, der durchschnittliche Virtuoso hingegen in Höhe von 9,35%, also das das Fünffache. Das Mitarbeiterengagement falle bei letzteren auch um 26% höher aus und das Unternehmensrisiko wiederum sei um einiges geringer.
    Die Studie kommt zu dem Schluss, dass die Quelle des Erfolgs die Person an der Spitze einer Firma sei: Der Charakter eines Menschen potenziere seine Fähigkeiten exponentiell.

Zurück