Aspen Germany

aspen_germany1

Aspen Institute Germany

The Aspen Idea

The Aspen Institute Germany promotes values-based leadership, constructive dialog among conflicting parties, and Euro-Atlantic cooperation to support and enhance a strong open society.

To do so, Aspen Germany convenes decision-makers and experts from the fields of politics, business, academia, media, culture, and civil society in three programs:

  • Policy Programs offer a non-partisan, confidential platform for dialog and analysis to address regional and global challenges and to develop mutually acceptable solutions.
  • Leadership Programs reflect on values and ideas using the Socratic method to deepen knowledge, broaden perspectives, and enhance participants’ ability to solve the problems they face.
  • Public Programs provide a forum for open and constructive dialog between decision-makers and a broader audience on a wide range of current issues.

The Aspen Institute Germany was founded in Berlin in 1974 and has since then actively promoted the idea of transatlantic community and of a free and open society. It serves as a non-partisan, non-profit convening platform and is part of the global Aspen network, with partners in the U.S., France, Italy, the Czech Republic, Romania, Spain, Japan, India, Mexico, and the Ukraine. Together, the Institutes are committed to addressing the challenges of the 21st century.

The History of the Aspen Institute Germany

1974-1988 Prof. Dr. Shepard A. Stone

stone

The Aspen Institute Germany was founded by Shepard Stone in 1974 as the first Aspen Institute outside the U.S. In accordance with Aspen’s mission, it promotes international dialog about values, competencies and ideals that are necessary to successfully meet the challenges of a globalized world. In particular, the U.S.-German dialog with the Eastern Bloc during the Cold War played an important role. Due to the political circumstances, the Institute under Shepard Stone focused on German-American relations, the development of Berlin, the dialog between East and West, and arms control. The influential role played by the Aspen Institute was made possible by Stone’s outstanding contacts with leading figures in Germany and Europe. He attracted luminaries such as Willy Brandt, Lord Alan Bullock, Dr. Marion Gräfin Dönhoff, and Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker to serve on the Institute’s board.

1989-1997 Ambassador (ret.) David Anderson

andersonThe Aspen Institute Germany gradually altered course under David Anderson’s leadership. The focus shifted to transatlantic relations, security and foreign affairs, and the role of international institutions following the fall of the Iron Curtain. The search for a solution to the Balkan conflicts became an additional priority. Working with the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace, Anderson created the International Commission on the Balkans under the leadership of former Belgian Prime Minister Leo Tindemans. Another of Anderson’s goals was a broader outreach within Germany. He opened more events to the public and invited representatives of the media.

1998-2000 Dr. Catherine McArdle Kelleher

kelleher

Under the leadership of Catherine McArdle Kelleher, the geographic areas of focus of the Aspen Institute Germany were the Balkans, Russia, and the European Union. Particular attention was paid to foreign and security policy. Events were increasingly open to the public and leadership programs were expanded. During this period, the number of events in cooperation with the U.S. government and the German Federal Foreign Office increased.

 

2001-2006 Dr. Jeffrey Gedmin

gedmin

As Director, Jeffrey Gedmin focused on transatlantic relations and security policy. His aim was to make the Aspen Institute a “market­place of ideas,” a place where German and American decision makers and opinion leaders could come together to exchange ideas and develop policy recommendations. Priority was given to transatlantic security policy and to the strengthening of democracy in Eastern Europe, Russia, and Turkey. The situation in the Middle East developed into another important area of focus. Many White House decision makers participated in events organized by the Aspen Institute. At the same time, Gedmin intensified the cooperation between the Institute and American foundations and think tanks.

2007-2013 Charles King Mallory IV

malloryCharles King Mallory IV repositioned the Aspen Institute Germany in line with its original mission of providing a global and non-partisan platform for leaders from the fields of business, science, and the arts to discuss values-based solutions to the problems facing modern society. Against this background, the Aspen Seminar was introduced in Germany. At the same time, conferences and closed meetings on current challenges in international politics were held. Key aspects were the European Strategy Forum, which was dedicated to European security issues, the Southeast Europe program, and dialogs brokered by Aspen Germany between the U.S. and the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea.

Since 2013 Rüdiger Lentz

gremium_lentzRüdiger Lentz assumed office as the Executive Director of the Aspen Institute Germany in September 2013. While the Institute’s public activities since then have been increased and new formats have been introduced, the Institute continues its work in line with its tradition of focusing on values-based leadership, European-American cooperation, and European and global security issues. In addition, new areas of interest include Germany’s role as a foreign policy actor, the further integration and future of Europe, including the economic and financial challenges that come with it. In 2014 Aspen Germany celebrated its 40th anniversary by launching a new annual Transatlantic Conference in Berlin, which brings together Germans and Americans to seek answers to the challenges facing both sides of the Atlantic.

Annual Report 2013-2014

Annual Report 2011-2012

Annual Report 2009-2010

Annual Report 2007-2008

Aspen Deutschland

aspen_germany1

Aspen Institute Deutschland

Die Aspen Idee

Das Aspen Institute Deutschland ist dem Ideal der offenen Gesellschaft verpflichtet. Es fördert wertebasierte Führung, einen konstruktiven Dialog zwischen Konfliktparteien sowie die euroatlantische Kooperation.

Diese Idee setzt Aspen Deutschland um, indem es Entscheidungsträger und Experten aus Politik, Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Medien, Kultur und Zivilgesellschaft im Rahmen von drei Programmen zusammenbringt:

  • Das Policy Program bietet eine überparteiliche, vertrauliche Plattform für Dialog und die Analyse regionaler und globaler Herausforderungen, um zu konsensfähigen Lösungen beizutragen.
  • Das Leadership Program reflektiert Werte und Ideen mithilfe der sokratischen Methode, um Wissen zu vertiefen, Perspektiven zu erweitern und die Fähigkeiten zur Problemlösung der Teilnehmer zu stärken.
  • Das Public Program dient Entscheidungsträgern und einem breiteren Publikum als Forum für einen offenen und konstruktiven Dialog zu vielfältigen aktuellen Themen.

Das Aspen Institute Deutschland wurde 1974 in Berlin gegründet. Noch heute steht es für die transatlantische Gemeinschaft und das Ideal einer freien und offenen Gesellschaft ein. Als unabhängige gemeinnützige Institution ist Aspen Deutschland Teil des globalen Aspen-Netzwerks mit Partnern in den USA, Frankreich, Italien, der Tschechischen Republik, Rumänien, Spanien, Japan, Indien, Mexiko und die Ukraine. Die Institute setzen sich dafür ein, gemeinsam die Herausforderungen des 21. Jahrhunderts zu bewältigen.

Die Geschichte des Aspen Institute Deutschland

1974-1988 Prof. Dr. Shepard A. Stone

stoneDas Aspen Institute Deutschland e.V. wurde 1974 als erstes Aspen Institute außerhalb der USA von Shepard Stone gegründet. Entsprechend der Aspen Mission hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den weltweiten Dialog über Werte, Kompetenzen und Ideale zu fördern, die zur erfolgreichen Bewältigung der Herausforderungen in einer globalisierten Welt erforderlich sind. Insbesondere der durch Aspen Deutschland ermöglichte deutsch-amerikanische Dialog mit dem Ostblock während der Zeit des Kalten Krieges spielte eine wichtige Rolle. Das Institut befasste sich, bedingt durch die politischen Umstände, unter Shepard Stone mit den deutsch-amerikanischen Beziehungen, der Entwicklung Berlins, dem Dialog zwischen Ost und West und der Rüstungskontrolle. Der große Einfluss des Aspen Institute ist vor allem der Tatsache geschuldet, dass Stone dank seiner hervorragenden Kontakte prominente Deutsche und Europäer aus Politik und Wirtschaft für den Vorstand gewinnen konnte, darunter Willy Brandt, Lord Alan Bullock, Dr. Marion Gräfin Dönhoff und Dr. Richard von Weizsäcker.

1989-1997 Botschafter a.D. David Anderson

andersonUnter der Leitung von David Anderson kam es zu einer Verschiebung der Schwerpunkte des Instituts. Diese lagen nun in den Bereichen der transatlantischen Beziehungen, Sicherheits- und Außenbeziehungen und der Rolle internationaler Institutionen in der Folge des Falls des Eisernen Vorhangs. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt der Arbeit bestand in der Suche nach Lösungen für die blutigen Konflikte während des Zerfalls Jugoslawiens. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Carnegie Endowment for Peace schuf Anderson die „International Commission on the Balkans“ unter der Führung des früheren belgischen Premierministers Leo Tindemans. Um ein breiteres Publikum zu erreichen, öffnete Anderson mehr Veranstaltungen für die Öffentlichkeit und bezog Vertreter der Medien als Teilnehmer an Veranstaltungen ein.

1998-2000 Dr. Catherine McArdle Kelleher

kelleherUnter der Leitung von Catherine McArdle Kelleher lagen die geographischen Schwerpunkte der Instituts-Arbeit in den Bereichen Balkan, Russland sowie der Europäischen Union. Die Veranstaltungen waren in zunehmender Zahl öffentlich und das Leadership Programm wurde ausgeweitet. Zu dieser Zeit gab es eine große Anzahl von Kooperationsveranstaltungen in Kooperation mit der U.S.-Regierung und dem Auswärtigen Amt.

2001-2006 Dr. Jeffrey Gedmin

gedminJeffrey Gedmin rückte die transatlantischen Beziehungen und den Bereich der Sicherheitspolitik wieder in den Fokus. Das Aspen Institute sollte zu einem „Marktplatz der Ideen“ werden, einem Ort, an dem deutsche und amerikanische Entscheidungsträger und Meinungsbildner zusammenkamen, um Gedanken auszutauschen und politische Empfehlungen zu entwickeln. Dabei stand neben der transatlantischen Beziehung die Stärkung der Demokratie in Osteuropa, Russland und der Türkei im Vordergrund. Zu einem weiteren Schwerpunkt entwickelte sich auch der Nahe Osten. Durch Teilnehmer aus dem Weißen Haus und eine enge Zusammenarbeit mit amerikanischen Stiftungen sowie Think Tanks konnte eine enge transatlantische Zusammenarbeit gefördert werden.

2007-2013 Charles King Mallory IV

malloryUnter Charles King Mallory IV wurde das Institut zu seiner Grundidee zurückgeführt: Eine globale und überparteiliche Plattform, auf der sich Entscheidungsträger und Führungskräfte aus Wirtschaft, Wissenschaft, Kunst und Kultur über die geistigen und moralischen Grundlagen zur Lösung moderner Herausforderungen austauschen. Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde das Aspen Leadership Seminar erstmals in Deutschland eingeführt. Gleichzeitig wurden Konferenzen und geschlossene Treffen zu aktuellen Herausforderungen der internationalen Politik durchgeführt. Schwerpunkte waren hierbei das European Strategy Forum, das sich europäischen Sicherheitsfragen gewidmet hat, das Südosteuropa Programm sowie durch Aspen vermittelte Dialoge zwischen den USA und Nordkorea.

Seit 2013 Rüdiger Lentz

gremium_lentz

Im September 2013 übernahm Rüdiger Lentz die Leitung des Aspen Institute Deutschland. Seither wurde das Angebot für die Öffentlichkeit erweitert und neue Formate wurden eingeführt. Inhaltlich liegt der klassische Schwerpunkt weiterhin auf wertebasierter Führung, der deutsch-amerikanischen und transatlantischen Zusammenarbeit sowie Fragen europäischer und globaler Sicherheit. Hinzugekommen sind die Behandlung aktueller Fragen wie die nach der außenpolitischen Positionierung Deutschlands, der Weiterentwicklung Europas und der damit in engem Zusammenhang stehenden wirtschaftlichen und finanzpolitischen Probleme. Mit einer Transatlantischen Konferenz anlässlich des 40-jährigen Jubiläums im Oktober 2014 wurde außerdem eine neue Institution von alljährlich wiederkehrenden transatlantischen Konferenzen in Berlin ins Leben gerufen.

Jahresbericht 2013-2014

Jahresbericht 2011-2012

Jahresbericht 2009-2010

Jahresbericht 2007-2008